08. – 19.01.2019

Postmodern Melancholy I Stephanie Kloss

A photographic search for traces

In the architectural studies at the TU Berlin in the 1980s, the International Building Exhibition IBA 1987 was a compulsory programme. In 1988, people made a pilgrimage from Rauchstraße, where we marvelled at the first ecological buildings, to Lützowplatz with its post-modern residential buildings by Botta, Cook, Jansen, etc., to the IBA. On the other side of the square stood the O M Ungers apartment block, a must-see for every architecture student: Townhouses – at that time still called city villas – for social housing.

30 years and a wall later, nothing is left. The entire Ungers block was successively demolished. The new building embodies the obligatory mixed-use of the Berlin style, miles away from the conceptual originality and the IBA-typical generous inner-city living quality of the Ungers building.

In a concept of (West) Berlin as a “Green Archipelago” developed with colleagues such as Hans Kollhoff and Rem Koolhaas, Ungers opposed a reconstruction of the historic city body and advocated the planning of green city islands within a polycentric whole: The garden as a city, the city as a garden.

For West Berliners, the block at Lützowplatz offered paradisiacal conditions – at social housing rents. It thus stood as a prototype for the International Building Exhibition, whose principle was to “regain the inner city as a place to live” with affordable living space. “Critical Reconstruction” was another point. In view of the housing shortage and the new construction of the palace, today this programme is already looking visionary again.

Stephanie Kloss shows photographs of the demolition and juxtaposes these with other IBA buildings. She is not interested in documenting them, but in an abstraction that seeks to elaborate the IBA’s theoretical ideas and approach while at the same time taking a critical look at current urban policy.

Stephanie Kloss, born in Karlsruhe, lives and works as a visual artist in Berlin. She studied architecture at the Berlin Technische Universität (diploma), and media art at Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe under Marie-Jo Lafontaine and Günther Förg, as well as photography under Thomas Struth and Candida Höfer. Stephanie Kloss’s photographic works deal with sociological, political, and spatial phenomena. Here, in her more recent works, the subject of power plays a central part. She is represented in numerous solo and group exhibitions. Next to her artistic work, she teaches extracurricular studies at Universität der Künste Berlin (UDK) and Summer University, curates shows such as “Erotica” or “Pissing in a River. Again!” (Kunstraum Kreuzberg), and writes texts for various art magazines.

Dates

08. – 19.01.2019

Venue

CLB Berlin im Aufbau Haus
Prinzenstraße 84.2
Berlin-Kreuzberg
10969 Deutschland

08. – 20.01.2019

Postmodern Melancholy I Stephanie Kloss

Eine fotografische Spurensuche

Während des Architekturstudiums an der TU Berlin in den 1980er Jahren war die Internationale Bauausstellung IBA 1987 Pflichtprogramm. Man pilgerte im Jahr 1988 von der Rauchstraße, in der wir zum ersten Mal ökologisches Bauen bestaunten, zum Lützowplatz mit seinen postmodernen Wohnhäusern von Botta, Cook, Jansen etc. Auf der anderen Seite des Platzes stand der Wohnblock von O M Ungers, ein Must für jeden Architekturstudenten: Townhouses – damals noch Stadtvillen genannt – für den sozialen Wohnungsbau.

30 Jahre und eine Mauer später ist nichts mehr zu sehen, der gesamte Ungers-Block wurde sukzessive abgerissen. Der jetztige Neubau verkörpert die obligatorische Mischnutzung Berliner Machart, von der konzeptionellen Originalität und der IBA-typischen großzügigen innerstädtischen Wohnqualität des Ungers-Baus meilenwert entfernt.

In einem mit Kollegen wie Hans Kollhoff und Rem Koolhaas entwickelten Konzept von (West-)Berlin als „Grünem Archipel“ wandte Ungers sich gegen eine Rekonstruktion des historischen Stadtkörpers und sprach sich für eine Planung durchgrünter Stadtinseln innerhalb eines polyzentralen Ganzen aus: Der Garten als Stadt, die Stadt als Garten.

Für West-Berliner Verhältnisse bot der Block am Lützowplatz paradiesische Bedingungen – und das zu Mietpreisen des sozialen Wohnungsbaus. Damit stand er prototypisch für die Internationale Bauausstellung, deren Grundsatz es war, „die Rückgewinnung der Innenstadt als Wohnort“ mit bezahlbarem Wohnraum zu schaffen. „Kritische Rekonstruktion“ war ein weiterer Punkt, angesichts Wohnungsnot und Schlossneubau wirkt dieses Programm heute schon wieder visionär.

Stephanie Kloss zeigt Fotografien des Abrisses und stellt diese anderen IBA-Bauten gegenüber. Dabei geht es ihr nicht um deren Dokumentation, sondern um eine Abstraktion, die den theoretischen Gedanken bzw. Ansatz der IBA herausarbeiten möchte und gleichzeitig kritisch auf die jetzige Stadtpolitik schaut.

Stephanie Kloss, geboren in Karlsruhe, lebt und arbeitet als bildende Künstlerin in Berlin. Sie hat Architektur an der Technischen Universität in Berlin (Diplom) und Medienkunst an der Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe bei Marie-Jo Lafontaine und Günther Förg sowie Fotografie bei Thomas Struth und Candida Höfer studiert. Stephanie Kloss’ fotografische Arbeiten beschäftigen sich mit soziologischen, politischen und räumlichen Phänomenen. Dabei spielt das Thema Macht in jüngeren Arbeiten eine zentrale Rolle. Sie ist in zahlreichen Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen vertreten. Neben ihrer künstlerischen Tätigkeit unterrichtet sie an der Universität der Künste Berlin im Studium Generale und der Summer University, kuratiert Ausstellungen wie z. B. „Erotica“ oder „Pissing in a River. Again!“ im Kunstraum Kreuzberg und schreibt Texte für verschiedene Kunstzeitschriften.

Termine

08. – 20.01.2019

ORT

CLB Berlin im Aufbau Haus
Prinzenstraße 84.2
Berlin-Kreuzberg
10969 Deutschland

VERANSTALTER

Stephanie Kloss + CLB Berlin
http://www.s-kloss.de