03. – 10.08.2019

Whose Europe?

The “New Europe” and Controversy around the European Idea
International Conference in Yerevan, Armenia, and Local Discussions and Interventions in Belarus, Georgia, Ukraine and the Republic of Moldova

The collapse of socialist systems in Eastern Europe and postcolonial moves to restructure the European periphery have brought conflict and even war in their wake, as disputes continue to erupt over the definition and form of national identities. The idea of Europe as a community and the European Union as a supranational and intergovernmental community of states have so far been, and still remain, important frames of reference.

In the cities and regions of Eastern Europe, the parallel processes of reconstituting a national identity and Europeanisation have sparked fierce debates over the European question: How does it relate to the respective history and (re)constitution of each country’s national identity? How can it contribute to forging complex identities? Who belongs to Europe? And when we say “Europe”, what exactly do we mean?

Particularly in cities, artists, activists and urban planners, among others who are vehemently committed to the democratic and European reorientation of their societies, have founded democratically enlightened civic initiatives. With “Wessen Europa? / Whose Europe?”, this fight will be discussed by a broad public and brought into the local discourse. At the same time, an international network of civil society actors will be established.

At a conference in Yerevan in March 2019, all project partners will present their initiatives, discuss their different perspectives and draw up an action plan. How might civic initiatives contribute to European unification? What might be the common ground for a “European civic society”?

The developed results will be discussed further with the respective local publics and will be made tangible through artistic-medial interventions as well as an online publication. A public presentation and discussion will present the results of the project in Berlin in August 2019.

A project by stadtkultur international ev
Concept and realisation: Kai Vöckler, Archis Interventions / Georg Schöllhammer, Michaela Geboltsberger and Larissa Agel, tranzit.at / Sally Below, CLB Berlin

Project Partners:
Armenia: Ruben Arevshatyan (AICA Armenia, National Association of Art Critics) / Nazareth Karoyan (ICA Yerevan – Institute for Contemporary Art Yerevan)
Belarus: Olga Shparaga (European College of Liberal Arts in Belarus – ECLAB) / Sergey Shabohin (Artist)
Georgia: Gaga Kiknadze (Architekt Architects.ge) / Jesse Vogler (Free University of Tbilisi) / Wato Tsereteli (Center of Contemporary Art – Tbilisi)
Ukraine: Olesia Ostrovska, Anna Pohribna, Solomiya Borshosh (Mystetskyi Arsenal Kiew) / Vasyl Cherepanyn (Visual Culture Research Center)
Republic of Moldova: Stefan Rusu ([KSA:K] – Center for Contemporary Art Chișinău) / Vitalie Sprinceana (Journalist, co-editor PLATZFORMA.MD)

Conference: March 30 – 31, 2019, National Museum-Institute of Architecture, Yerevan

Public Presentation and Discussion: August 3 – 10, 2019, CLB Berlin

The project is funded by the German Federal Foreign Office within the framework of the program “Eastern Partnerships”.

Picture: Sergey Shabohin, ST()RE # 1: History Holes, 2010, Main Market, Krakow, Poland

Dates

03. – 10.08.2019

Venue

CLB Berlin im Aufbau Haus
Prinzenstraße 84.2
Berlin-Kreuzberg
10969 Deutschland

Organizer

ski stadtkultur international ev
https://www.stadtkultur-international.de

03. – 10.08.2019

Wessen Europa? / Whose Europe?

Das neue Europa und die Auseinandersetzung um die europäische Idee
Internationale Konferenz in Eriwan, Armenien, und lokale Diskussionen und Interventionen in Belarus, Georgien, der Ukraine und der Republik Moldau

Nach dem Zusammenbruch der sozialistischen Systeme in Ost- und Südosteuropa, aber auch im Zuge der postkolonialen Neuordnung der europäischen Peripherie, setzte eine konfliktreiche, teilweise kriegerische Auseinandersetzung um die Abgrenzung und Bildung nationaler Identitäten ein. Dabei waren und sind Europa als ideelle Gemeinschaft und die Europäische Union als supranationale und intergouvernementale Staatengemeinschaft wichtige Bezugspunkte.

In den parallel laufenden Prozessen von Nationalisierung und Europäisierung finden in den Städten und Regionen Osteuropas heftige Auseinandersetzungen über die Bestimmung der europäischen Frage statt: Wie steht sie zur jeweiligen Geschichte und Neubewertung im Zuge der Nationenbildung? Welche identitätsstiftenden Angebote kann sie machen? Wer gehört zu Europa? Und welches Europa ist gemeint?

Insbesondere in den Städten haben sich demokratisch-aufgeklärte zivilgesellschaftliche Initiativen gebildet – KünstlerInnen, AktivistInnen, UrbanistInnen, und andere – die sich vehement für die demokratische und europäische Neuausrichtung ihrer Gesellschaften einsetzen. Mit „Wessen Europa? / Whose Europe?“ wird dieser Kampf von einer breiten Öffentlichkeit bearbeitet und lokal in die Diskussion gebracht. Zeitgleich wird ein internationales Netzwerk zivilgesellschaftlicher AkteurInnen etabliert.

In einer Konferenz im März 2019 in Eriwan stellen alle ProjektpartnerInnen ihre Initiativen vor, diskutieren ihre unterschiedlichen Perspektiven und erstellen einen Aktionsplan. Welchen Beitrag können zivilgesellschaftliche Initiativen bei der Einigung Europas leisten? Was wäre die gemeinsame Grundlage einer „europäischen Zivilgesellschaft“?

Die entwickelten Inhalte werden mit den jeweiligen lokalen Öffentlichkeiten weiterdiskutiert und über künstlerisch-mediale Interventionen sowie eine Online-Publikation greifbar gemacht. Eine öffentliche Präsentation und Diskussion stellt die Ergebnisse des Projekts im August 2019 in Berlin vor.

Ein Projekt von stadtkultur international ev
Konzept und Realisation: Kai Vöckler, Archis Interventions / Georg Schöllhammer, Michaela Geboltsberger und Larissa Agel, tranzit.at / Sally Below, CLB Berlin

ProjektpartnerInnen:
Armenien: Ruben Arevshatyan (AICA Armenia, National Association of Art Critics) / Nazareth Karoyan (ICA Yerevan – Institute for Contemporary Art Yerevan)
Belarus: Olga Shparaga (European College of Liberal Arts in Belarus – ECLAB) / Sergey Shabohin (Künstler)
Georgien: Gaga Kiknadze (Architekt Architects.ge) / Jesse Vogler (Free University of Tbilisi) / Wato Tsereteli (Center of Contemporary Art – Tbilisi)
Ukraine: Olesia Ostrovska, Anna Pohribna, Solomiya Borshosh (Mystetskyi Arsenal Kiew) / Vasyl Cherepanyn (Visual Culture Research Center)
Republik Moldau: Stefan Rusu ([KSA:K] – Center for Contemporary Art Chișinău) / Vitalie Sprinceana (Journalist, co-editor PLATZFORMA.MD)

Konferenz: 31. – 31. März 2019, National Museum-Institute of Architecture, Yerevan

Öffentliche Präsentation und Diskussion: 3. – 10. August 2019 im CLB Berlin

Das Projekt wird gefördert durch das Auswärtige Amt der Bundesrepublik Deutschland im Rahmen des Programms „Östliche Partnerschaften“.

Abbildung: Sergey Shabohin, ST()RE # 1: History Holes, 2010, Main Market, Krakow, Poland

Termine

03. – 10.08.2019

ORT

CLB Berlin im Aufbau Haus
Prinzenstraße 84.2
Berlin-Kreuzberg
10969 Deutschland

VERANSTALTER

ski stadtkultur international ev
https://www.stadtkultur-international.de