08. – 14.12.2022

Hori Izhaki | A MACHINE GAZE

Opening: 08.12.22, 18.30
Opening hours: 09.12.-14.12.22, 12.00-18.00

Six hours like this for a few francs.
Belly nipple arse in the window light,
he drains the colour from me. Further to the right,
Madame. And do try to be still.
I shall be represented analytically and hung
in great museums. The bourgeoisie will coo
at such an image of a river-whore. They call it Art.

Carol Ann Duffy, “Female Standing Nude”.
 
In her performative installation, Hori Izhaki challenges the powers of current 3D printing technology by asking it to create a sculpture of a live model in real time. 
 
In the gallery two entities will be facing each other: A female model, the artist, in a portrait pose on a chair — opposite her a battery of 3D printers. Over a multi-day sitting, cameras continuously scan the model’s position, feeding natural modifications into the printers, asking them to integrate the emerging data into their creation. 
 
Analogue reality is increasingly challenged by the growth of the digital. Machines possess the power of precision. Their superiority lies in the precise manifestation of information. The craft of the artist appears almost obsolete. In her performative installation, Hori Izhaki poses a classic challenge of art to the machines. By tasking them to respond spontaneously and flexibly to the information they receive, she explores the relationship between creativity and failure.
 
Sitting/printing will commence at the opening on December 8th, 19:00h and conclude at the finissage on December 14th, 19:00h. Between those dates the process/installation can be viewed daily from 12:00h to 18:00h. 
 
Hori Izhaki is a multidisciplinary artist from Tel Aviv Jaffa, who currently lives and works in Berlin. Her performative installations have been shown in museums, galleries, festivals and art fairs in the Middle East and around Europe. Her art is stateless. Always looking for a state, a place to be in synchronisation and agreement with, she arrives in temporal mechanisms, structures and arrangements she builds to fall and fail (like any utopia). 
For Izhaki, nesting her works between disciplines is a choice for integration. Embracing the unresolvable question of what starts what, the media emerges from the theme and the theme is born from the media.

Gefördert durch 

Dates

08. – 14.12.2022

Venue

CLB Berlin
Aufbau Haus am Moritzplatz
Berlin
10969 Deutschland

Organizer

08. – 14.12.2022

Hori Izhaki | A MACHINE GAZE

Eröffnung: 08.12.22, 18.30
Öffnungszeiten: 09.12.-14.12.22, täglich 12.00-18.00

Six hours like this for a few francs.
Belly nipple arse in the window light,
he drains the colour from me. Further to the right,
Madame. And do try to be still.
I shall be represented analytically and hung
in great museums. The bourgeoisie will coo
at such an image of a river-whore. They call it Art.

Carol Ann Duffy, “Female Standing Nude”.

In ihrer performativen Installation fordert Hori Izhaki die Möglichkeiten der aktuellen 3D-Drucktechnologie heraus, indem sie diese auffordert, eine Skulptur eines lebenden Modells in Echtzeit zu erstellen. 
 
In der Galerie werden sich zwei Figuren gegenüberstehen: Ein weibliches Modell, die Künstlerin, in einer Porträtpose auf einem Stuhl – ihr gegenüber eine Batterie von 3D-Druckern. Während einer mehrtägigen Sitzung scannen Kameras kontinuierlich die Position des Modells und geben natürliche Veränderungen an die Drucker weiter, die die entstehenden Daten in ihre Kreation integrieren sollen. 

Das Sitzen/Drucken beginnt mit der Eröffnung am 8. Dezember um 19:00 Uhr und endet mit der Finissage am 14. Dezember um 19:00 Uhr. Zwischen diesen Terminen kann der Prozess/die Installation täglich von 12:00 bis 18:00 Uhr besichtigt werden. 
 
Hori Izhaki ist eine multidisziplinäre Künstlerin aus Tel Aviv Jaffa, die derzeit in Berlin lebt und arbeitet. Ihre performativen Installationen wurden bereits in Museen, Galerien, auf Festivals und Kunstmessen im Nahen Osten und in Europa gezeigt. Ihre Kunst ist staatenlos. Immer auf der Suche nach einem Zustand, einem Ort, mit dem sie synchronisiert und übereinstimmt, gelangt sie zu zeitlichen Mechanismen, Strukturen und Arrangements, die sie aufbaut, um zu scheitern (wie jede Utopie). 
Für Izhaki ist die Platzierung ihrer Arbeiten zwischen den Disziplinen eine Entscheidung für Integration. Indem sie die unlösbare Frage aufgreift, was aus was hervorgeht, entstehen die Medien aus dem Thema und das Thema aus den Medien. 

Gefördert durch 

Termine

08. – 14.12.2022

ORT

CLB Berlin
Aufbau Haus am Moritzplatz
Berlin
10969 Deutschland

VERANSTALTER