21.03. – 21.04.2019

Earthen architecture today

Construction accounts for one third of global resource use and nearly half of global energy use, and buildings have a significant impact on the environment, climate and quality of life. In times of climate change, future-proof buildings have to be built resource-efficient and sustainable. In the discourse on the (grey) energy balance of buildings, environmentally and climate-friendly natural and recycling materials are thus increasingly being returned to public awareness in Europe. Including the oldest building material in the world: raw earth.

As an abundant, cost-effective and energy-efficient material, earth holds enormous potential for the future of building and is increasingly being rediscovered as a sustainable building solution. Contemporary statements such as the Alnatura Campus Darmstadt, which was built, among others things, with the tunnel excavation material of Stuttgart 21, illustrate how the return to traditional construction methods can bring ecology and sustainability into architecture. Inspirational examples like this can be found on every continent – and should become more prominent in cities and urban environments.

“Earthen architecture today” shows, inter alia, the 40 finalists buildings of the TERRA Award, the first international prize for contemporary earthen architectures. Presented by the International Centre of Earthen Architecture CRAterre and the research and experimental centre on building materials amàco, the award recognizes outstanding earth building projects from all over the world. From residential and commercial buildings to public facilities to interior and exterior design, the selected projects show how versatile and aesthetically earth can be used as a building material. Earthen building is not just about adding value to local resources and potentials, but also about making a significant contribution to social building practice and facilitating healthy housing conditions. Because earth creates sustainable links: ecologically, economically fair, socially and aesthetically.

The exhibition about the TERRA Award was curated by Dominique Gauzin-Müller, international expert for sustainability in architecture and urban planning. At the CLB Berlin, Sally Below puts the individual contributions into an urban context, among others with an accompanying event. Video-Screenings give insight into earthen construction techniques, and in cooperation with Prof. Eike Roswag-Klinge of the TU Berlin Natural Building Lab and other Berlin experts, exhibits make earth as building material tangible and comprehensible.

Dates

21.03. – 21.04.2019

Venue

CLB Berlin im Aufbau Haus
Prinzenstraße 84.2
Berlin-Kreuzberg
10969 Deutschland

21.03. – 21.04.2019

Lehmarchitektur heute

Das Bauen ist für ein Drittel des globalen Ressourcenverbrauchs und fast die Hälfte des globalen Energieverbrauchs verantwortlich, und Gebäude haben maßgeblichen Einfluss auf Umwelt, Klima und Lebensqualität. In Zeiten des Klimawandels müssen diese ressourcenschonend und nachhaltig wiederverwertbar gebaut sein. Im Diskurs um die (graue) Energiebilanz von Gebäuden gelangen deshalb verstärkt umwelt- und klimafreundliche Natur- und Recyclingmaterialien zurück in das öffentliche Bewusstsein in Europa. Darunter auch der älteste Baustoff der Welt: Lehm.

Als häufig vorkommendes, kostengünstiges und energiesparendes Material birgt Lehm enormes Potenzial für das Bauen der Zukunft und wird auch hierzulande zunehmend als wertbeständige Baulösung wiederentdeckt. Zeitgenössische Statements wie der Alnatura Campus Darmstadt, der unter anderem mit dem Tunnelaushub von Stuttgart 21 gebaut wurde, verdeutlichen, wie die Rückbesinnung auf traditionelle Bauweisen Ökologie und Nachhaltigkeit in die Architektur bringen kann. Inspirierende Beispiele finden sich auf allen Kontinenten – und sollten Einzug in die Städte nehmen.

„Lehmarchitektur heute“ zeigt unter anderem die 40 Finalisten des TERRA Awards, dem ersten internationalen Preis für zeitgenössische Lehmarchitektur. Ausgelobt vom internationalen Zentrum für Lehmbau CRAterre und dem Forschungs- und Experimentierzentrum amàco, würdigt die Auszeichnung herausragende Lehmbauprojekte aus aller Welt. Von Wohn- und Gewerbebau über öffentliche Einrichtungen bis hin zu In- und Exterior Design zeigen die Projekte, wie vielseitig und ästhetisch der Baustoff Lehm genutzt werden kann. Dabei geht es nicht nur um die Wertschöpfung lokaler Ressourcen und Potenziale, sondern auch um einen wesentlichen Beitrag zur sozialen Baupraxis und die Förderung gesunden Wohnens. Denn Lehm verbindet nachhaltig: ökologisch, wirtschaftlich fair, sozial und ästhetisch.

Die Ausstellung zum TERRA Award wurde kuratiert von Dominique Gauzin-Müller, internationale Expertin für Nachhaltigkeit in Architektur und Städtebau. Im CLB Berlin geben darüber hinaus Videos Einblicke in Lehmbautechniken, und in Kooperation mit Prof. Eike Roswag-Klinge vom Natural Buildung Lab der TU Berlin wird der Baustoff Lehm in Exponaten begreif- und erlebbar gemacht.

Eröffnung der Ausstellung: Donnerstag, 21. März, 19 Uhr

Begleitveranstaltung: Dienstag, 2. April, weitere Informationen folgen

Öffnungszeiten: 22. März – 21. April, Dienstag – Sonntag, 15 – 19 Uhr

Abbildung:
Besucherzentrum des Schweizer Ornithologischen Instituts, Architekten: mlzd, Lehmbau: Lehm Ton Erde Schweiz GmbH, Martin Rauch

Termine

21.03. – 21.04.2019

ORT

CLB Berlin
Prinzenstraße 84.2
Berlin-Kreuzberg
10969 Deutschland

VERANSTALTER

CLB Berlin + sbca